University of Prishtina

Joint Master's Programme Political Science – Integration & Governance



University of Prishtina 

Prior to the establishment of Kosovo as an independent state, the University of Prishtina was initially enacted by the then Social Autonomous Province of Kosova on 18 November 1969, which provided a legal status and mandate of the institution as a degree awarding body.

In 2003, during the Balkans post-conflict period, reforms were solicited through a new strategy for higher education policy, which resulted in the adoption of the University Statute in 2004. Processes and regulations were set in place to serve as a foundation for future capacity development and quality assurance.

The contribution of the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) was instrumental in securing enhancement in areas of quality assurance and curricula implementation through cooperation with foreign universities. Read more here

Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science, established in 2001, provides scientific studies and research, contributing to the shaping of cadres as well as the development of studies on politics as a scientific discipline. The Department of Political Science for more than two decades has provided study programs, at THE BA and MA levels, such as Political Science and Public Administration (BA), Civil Society and Local Development (MA), Political Science (BA), with specialization in International Relations or Public Administration, International Relations and Diplomacy (MA), as well as the English language programme European Studies and Public Administration (MA). Read more here