University of Salzburg

Joint Master's Programme Political Science – Integration & Governance

University of Salzburg (PLUS)

PLUS was established in 1962 by law and has 4 Faculties:


Cultural and Social Sciences

Natural Sciences


Each Faculty has several Departments, subdivided into Divisions. The University has 2597 employees (1600 academics) and a total full-time student body of more than 18.000.

PLUS re-organized all study programs (BA, MA, PhD) it offers according to the Bologna process, with full implementation of ECTS. It is very active in the development of collaborations for sharing teaching and research activities with institutions worldwide for exchanging teachers and students. At the same time it is attractive to foreign students and therefore ranks number one with 15% among the Austrian Universities. PLUS also developed a platform for e-learning and has considerable experience in EU projects such as Erasmus, Socrates, Leonardo, Tempus and others.

Political Science is with now 25 staff members and about 500 students at BA/MA/PhD-Level well established since 1970. As Division of the Department of Political Science and Sociology it incorporates also the Salzburg Center for European Union Studies and provides in cooperation with representatives from Law and Economics an additional MA in European Union Studies. With implementation of BA/MA curricula in Political Science in 2006 Salzburg was the first Austrian University with Political Science in the Bologna model. The Political Science division is highly involved in international networks in teaching, research, exchange and one of the leading partners of, participating also in Erasmus Mundus projects and capacity building projects on Western Balkan.

For more please visit:

For information regarding PoSIG at University of Salzburg please visit